Monday, September 1, 2014

Thursday, Sep. 13, 2012

11 to interview for Johnson County judge position

Story Tools

print story Print email this story to a friend E-Mail AIMAIM reprint storyReprint

tool name

tool goes here

A judicial nominating committee has selected 11 attorneys for interviews to fill an opening on the bench for the Johnson County District Court.

The attorneys will interview for an opening due to the retirement of Judge Lawrence Sheppard.

The Johnson County judicial nominating commission has selected Christi Bright of Overland Park; Judge Michael Farley of Olathe; Stephanie Goodenow of Lenexa; Michael P. Joyce of Leawood; Timothy McCarthy of Overland Park; Laura McConwell of Mission; Clayton Norkey of Overland Park; Jacquelyn Rokusek of Olathe; Robert Scott of Lenexa; Judge Daniel Vokins of Olathe, and Lisa Wetzler of Prairie Village.

The nominating commission will meet to interview the applications at 8 a.m. Sept. 25 in Room 319 of the Johnson County Courthouse, 100 N. Kansas Ave., Olathe.

The meeting is open to the public and public comments will be accepted at 8:15 a.m. and 1:15 p.m.

Comments can also be submitted in writing to Kansas Appeal Judge Karen Arnold-Burger, who is the commission’s secretary, at 301 S.W. 10th Ave., Topeka, Kan.; faxed to 1-785-296-7079; or emailed to

Comments will be forwarded to members of the commission.

The judicial nominating commission is made up of 14 members — seven attorneys elected by the Kansas licensed attorneys residing in the district and seven non-attorneys appointed by the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners.

| Robert A. Cronkleton,

Submit an ad